Tuesday | 03 Oct 2023


The Centre for Banking Research (CBR) joins EMNES

The Euro-Mediterranean Network for Economic Studies (EMNES) is honored to announce that the Centre for Banking Research (CBR) at Cass Business School has joined the partners of the Network as an associate member.

The Centre for Banking Research (CBR) at Cass Business School promotes high calibre academic research in the field of banking and fosters the teaching of banking subjects to a high standard. Drawing on the wide experience of its core and associate members, the Centre offers expert analysis of the economic and business environment that affects the banking and financial sector. As such, CBR is able to provide specialist consultancy to the banking and financial services industry, public sector organisations, regulatory authorities and governments.

Cass Business School, which is part of City University London, delivers innovative, relevant and forward-looking education, training, consultancy and research. Cass offers the widest portfolio of specialist Masters programmes in Europe. It also has the largest faculties of Finance and Actuarial Science and Insurance in the region. It is ranked in the top 10 UK business schools for business, management and finance research and 90% of the research output is internationally significant.

Professor Barbara Casu will be the representative of CBR to EMNES. Prof. Casu is the Director of the Centre for Banking Research at Cass Business School, where she is Professor of Banking and Finance. She is also the Director of the Cass Executive PhD Programme. Her main research interests are in empirical banking, financial regulation, structured finance, and corporate governance.

The Euro-Mediterranean Network for Economic Studies (EMNES) is a network of partners and associates research institutions and think tanks working on socio-economics in the EuroMediterranean. EMNES is supported from 23 Universities and Research Institutions from Algeria, Belgium, Canada, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Palestine, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, and Turkey, and it is co-funded by the European Commission and the Euro-Mediterranean Economists Association (EMEA).